Print Page Email This Page

Board of City Commissioners


Seven elected officials, a mayor and six commissioners, form Albany's Board of City Commissioners. The Commission sets city policy, passes ordinances and resolutions and raises revenue. The mayor is elected at-large while commissioners are elected by voters from their wards. The mayor and commissioners serve four-year terms.

Commission committees meet in work sessions at 8:30 a.m. on the first and third Tuesdays of each month in Room 120 of the Government Center, 222 Pine Ave. Recommendations from these work sessions are brought to the full Commission for consideration at 6:30 p.m. on the fourth Tuesday of each month in Room 100 of the Government Center.

Citizens are encouraged to share their concerns and ideas with the Mayor and Board of Commissioners. To address the Commission during a work session or business meeting, click here for a Speaker's Appearance Form


The City Commission's mission is to provide the best service possible to the citizens of Albany at the least cost and in the most efficient and professional manner.

Form of Government

The City of Albany was incorporated by an Act of the General Assembly of Georgia on Dec. 27, 1838, and has operated under the commission-manager form of government since Jan. 14, 1924. The seven-member Commission consists of a Mayor elected at large and six Commissioners elected from wards. The Commission also appoints members to various boards, authorities and commissions. The Commission also appoints the city manager, city clerk, city attorney and municipal court judge. The city manager, as the City's chief administrative officer, is responsible for enforcing laws and ordinances and implementing policies passed by the Commission. The city manager appoints department heads to assist him or her with these responsibilities.