Print Page Email This Page

Dougherty County Departments

Dougherty County was created in 1853 from part of Baker County. Georgia's 102nd county was named for Charles Dougherty of Athens, a judge of the Western Circuit and a popular advocate of state rights. Portions of Worth County were transferred to Dougherty County in 1854 and 1856. Dougherty County, which has more pecan trees than any other county in the nation, is a strong contributor to south Georgia's claim as the pecan capital of the world.

Thank you for visiting us; please learn more about Dougherty County government by clicking on the links below:

County Administration Finance
Cooperative Extension Human Resources
Coroner Keep Albany-Dougherty Beautiful
County Jail Law Library
County Police Public Defender's Office
County Transit Public Library
Court System Public Works
District Attorney's Office Sheriff's Office
Drug Unit Solid Waste/Landfill
Emergency Medical Services Tax/Tag
Facilities Management Voter Registration & Election 
 « Return to the Citizen Information Page